Profile Images

Birthday 1939-04-24


Your rate:
Total: (0 rates)

​ Brian Francis Wynne Garfield (born 1939) is an American novelist and screenwriter. He wrote his first published book at the age of eighteen and wrote several novels under such pen names as "Frank Wynne" and "'Brian Wynne" before gaining prominence when his book Hopscotch (1975) won the 1976 Edgar Award for Best Novel. He is best known for his 1972 novel Death Wish, which was adapted for the 1974 film of the same title, followed by four sequels, and an upcoming remake. His follow-up 1975 sequel to Death Wish, Death Sentence, was very loosely adapted into a film of the same name which was released to theaters in late 2007, though an entirely different storyline, but with the novel's same look on vigilantism. Garfield is also the author of The Thousand-Mile War: World War II in Alaska and the Aleutians, which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for History. Garfield's latest book, published in 2007, is Meinertzhagen, the biography of controversial British intelligence officer Richard Meinertzhagen.

Other Roles

2018Death Wish - Novel
2009The Stepfather - Story
2007Death Sentence - Novel
1994Death Wish 5: The Face of Death - Characters
1992Stepfather III - Characters
1989Stepfather II: Make Room For Daddy - Characters
1988Necessity - Writer
1987Death Wish 4: The Crackdown - Characters
1987The Stepfather - Story
1985Death Wish 3 - Characters
1984Fleshburn - Novel
1980Hopscotch - Author
1980Hopscotch - Screenplay
1977Relentless - Novel
1974Death Wish - Novel

The Wall

No comments
You need to sign in to comment